SHIVER

Romaji and English translation of the song SHIVER from the album TOXIC and the single SHIVER by the GazettE.

This song was used as the opening for season two of the Kuroshitsuji / Black Butler anime.

Translator's Notes
  • Lyrics originally sung in English are in italics , and words or phrases I felt were implied are in [brackets] in the translation.
  • I also (usually) put repeats of chorus/verses/stanzas in [brackets] if they’re not written that way in the original lyrics for ease of singing along.
  • If he writes a word in the lyrics but doesn’t sing it, I put it in light grey to make it easier to skip when singing along.
  • I usually romajize katakana characters in CAPITALS, and keep punctuation and line spacing as close to the original booklet as possible. If you see me putting spaces before punctuation at the end of a sentence or writing things in mixed-case capitals, that’s because it’s how it was in the booklet.
  • Any comments I had during the romajization/translation process will be included as footnotes so as not to disturb the flow of the song. They’re not required reading, but Ruki does some pretty nifty things with his lyrics/kanji choices, or sometimes there’s further explanations about words or phrases in there.

SHIVER: Romaji

Tatoe… owaru koto no nai kanashimi ga anata ubatte mo
Hanarete yuku kokoro nado koko ni wa nai to itte

Kake yotta senaka ni toikakeru asu ga donna katachi demo
Yuruga nakatta no wa mou shinjiru koto wo wasuretaku nakatta kara
Me wo sorasu kusemo aimai na kaitoumo waraenu uso mo
Tonari ni inakereba imisae nijin de yuku

Tatoe… owaru koto no nai kanashimi ga anata ubatte mo
Hanarete yuku kokoro nado koko ni wa nai to itte

Toosugita kono kyori wo umeru kotoba ga mitsukaranai
Sugisaru kisetsu no naka de oitsukenaku naru koto mo shitteta yo
Omoidasu yorimo wasurarenai hibi to ie takara
Mou kore ijou ga wa nakutemo uketomereru

Douka modoru koto no nai toki ni namida wo nagasanai de
Wasurete yuku kokoro nado koko ni wa nai to ittekureru nara

Ushinaide shitta futari no asu ni anata ga naiteru
Yatto mireta sugao ni mou furerarenai
Tatoe… owaru koto no nai kanashimi ga anata ubatte mo
Wasurenaide “sayonara” ga uso to omoeta hibi wo
Hitorikiri de mita sora mo surechigau naka de mita yume mo
Ano hi no mama nani mo kawarazu
Anata no naka de ima mo zutto…


SHIVER: Translation

Even if… a never-ending sadness steals you away
Tell me your heart will never leave mine behind in this place

Pressed against your back, I remember asking you what you thought tomorrow will look like
The reason I didn’t hesitate was that I didn’t want to forget what I believed in
Your habit of averting your eyes, your vague answers, your unsmiling evasiveness
If you’re not by my side, the very meaning [of everything] begins to blur

Even if… a never-ending sadness steals you away
Tell me your heart will never leave mine behind in this place

I can’t find the words that will fill this distance that formed between us
As the seasons passed by, I knew I wouldn’t be able to catch up with you
I guess you’d say it’s not that I remember those days, but that they’re just unforgettable
If I can’t have more than that, I’ll learn to accept it

So please, I won’t shed tears over what we can’t go back to
If you’ll just tell me your heart will never leave mine behind here

When we realized our future was lost to the two of us, you cried
I was finally able to see your true face, only now I can no longer touch it
Even if… a never-ending sadness steals you away
Don’t forget those days when we thought “goodbye” was nothing but a lie
Now the sky I’m looking at all alone seems different than the one from my dreams
Nothing is the same as it was that day
But you’ll always be inside [my heart]…

TOXIC album cover art © 2011 Sony Music / JPU Records

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑